You’d be forgiven for thinking that all wine, a product inherently made from grapes, is vegan. However, this isn’t the case. Often times, many wines can have animal products used in the fining & clarification process during winemaking.
Let us explain…
Fining agents like gelatin, isinglass, egg whites and milk proteins are common in the filtration process. And they are all derived from animals. These agents aren’t considered additives, as they’re simply passed through the wine to attract and filter out any unwanted particles in the juice.
What is Vegan Wine?
Vegan wines are either clarified using natural materials, or left completely unrefined and unfiltered. That’s when you see a wine that’s cloudy, or a bottle with some sediment in the wine. These are both completely harmless to us as drinkers, but they can be a little unpleasant in the mouth sometimes.
What does Vegan Wine Taste like?
In general, vegan wine is made to have a similar taste profile to traditional wine and should have the same notes of fruit, tannins, and acidity. The flavour of vegan wine will depend on the grape variety, winemaking technique, and personal preference, just like traditional wine.
Vegan Wine Australia
Shop our large selection of Vegan Wine here at the Wine Collective and we promise you won't be disappointed. Shop online today!